NEW ACADEMICS Release New Album 'Growler Front'

  • Written by Press Release
  • Published in News

NEW ACADEMICS is a high-energy four-piece band from Johannesburg, South Africa with an eclectic sound that fuses elements of hip-hop, dance music and rock will release new album 'Growler Front' in March 2016. The band's third studio album. While staying true to the New Academics sound, 'Growler Front' pushes the sonic fringe with gritty hooks and even grittier themes that represent a natural progression for the band.

New Academics Roadscape

Founded in Cape Town in 2004 by vocalist Joe Penn and guitarist David Baudains, the original line-up relocated to Johannesburg shortly thereafter and rapidly became renowned for energetic and passionate live performances at club venues and major festival stages nationwide.

The band has released two critically acclaimed albums. 2007’s 'City of Strange' and 2008’s, 'The Apple', both of which garnered South African Music Award nominations. (2008 Best Alternative Album for City of Strange and 2009 Best English Alternative Album for The Apple).

After five years playing across South Africa and two European tours, NEW ACADEMICS took an indefinite hiatus in early 2010, returning to the stage in late 2014 with the current line-up of Joe Penn (vocals), David Baudains (guitar), Rob Storm (drums) and Jacques du Plessis (bass). 

Growler Front Album Cover

NEW ACADEMICS Release New Album 'Growler Front' - 4.5 out of 5 based on 2 votes